RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks. It is a technology that combines multiple hard drives into a single logical unit for the purpose of data redundancy, performance improvement, or both. RAID provides fault tolerance, meaning that if one disk fails, the data can still be accessed from other disks in the array. There are several types of RAID configurations, including RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, and RAID 6, each with different levels of data redundancy and performance.
  1. 1.
    RAID 0 - also known as striping, it provides improved performance by dividing data across multiple disks, but has no redundancy and a higher risk of data loss if any of the disks fail.
  2. 2.
    RAID 1 - also known as mirroring, it provides redundancy by creating an exact copy of data on two disks, but with reduced capacity.
  3. 3.
    RAID 5 - it provides both performance and redundancy by distributing data and parity across multiple disks, allowing for the failure of one disk without losing data.
  4. 4.
    RAID 6 - it is similar to RAID 5, but with two sets of parity data to provide redundancy for two disk failures.
  5. 5.
    RAID 10 - it combines the benefits of RAID 0 and RAID 1 by striping data across multiple mirrored pairs of disks, providing both performance and redundancy.
Last modified 9mo ago